Director of Airports Richard Strickland is recognized at the September Board of County Commissioners meeting for Key West Airport being named Commercial Service Airport of the Year by the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). KRISTEN LIVENGOOD/Monroe County

BOCC RECOGNIZES AIRPORT AWARD: Key West International Airport Named Commercial Service Airport of the Year

FLORIDA KEYS – The Monroe County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) recognized Key West International Airport Executive Director Richard Strickland and his staff Wednesday for being named Commercial Service Airport of the Year by the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT).

The airport received the award at the Statewide Continuing Florida Aviation System Planning Process Steering Committee Meeting held in conjunction with the Florida Airports Council annual conference in July.

FDOT annually recognizes superior achievement by presenting awards in eight different aviation categories, with Key West International Airport being nominated for Commercial Service Airport of the Year. 

Mayor Craig Cates congratulated Strickland both for the award and the ongoing Concourse A and terminal improvements project at the Key West airport.

“I’d like to thank the staff for their hard work,” Strickland said. “None of this could be done without them.

Under his direction, Key West International Airport is made up of the following employees:

  • Erick D’Leon, Assistant Director of Airports
  • Tyler Bethel, Deputy Director, Airport Facilities
  • Beth Leto Airport, Deputy Director, Finance & Admin
  • Luis Garay, Deputy Director, Operations and Security
  • Cale Hartle, Airport Airside & Landside Manager
  • Sonja Fleita, Security Manager
  • Talandieu Dor, Assistant Manager, Operations & Security
  • Stephanie Saenz, Assistant Manager, Facilities & Operations
  • Katie Atkins, Marketing & Communications Manager
  • Maria (Jones) Morgan, Airport Finance Analyst
  • Emie Simeone, Administrator, Airport Grants and Finance
  • Svilena Valcheva, Airport Executive Administrator
  • Chris Hawks, Airport Systems Technician
  • Joseph “Ritchie” Wright, Assistant Airport Systems Technician
  • Sergej Korotkov Foreman, Airport Maintenance Foreman
  • Jerry Montague, Sr. Airport Maintenance Technician
  • James Lewis, Assistant Coordinator, Airport Maintenance
  • Brian Holloway, Assistant Coordinator, Airport Maintenance


Airport Security, MCSO

  • Lt. Michael DiGiovanni, Director of Airport Security
  • Sgt. Vicki Lockwood
  • Sgt. Bobby Burkett
  • Dep. Sonya Morgan
[livemarket market_name="KONK Life LiveMarket" limit=3 category=“” show_signup=0 show_more=0]